Morgy’s Better


It’s a fact, she’s a pain again.  That must mean she’s better, right?

A few days ago, I was petting Morgan (yellow lab) and I just barely touched her back when she let out a loud cry.  It scared me.  She made that sound and moved away quickly.  To top it all off, she had a sad look on her face the rest of the night.

That was not my dog!  My dog wants attention.  My dog wants to be touched all the time when she isn’t laying down (and sometimes even when she is).  She wags her tail furiously and implores you, beseeches you to move our hands in her direction. Nothing would make her happier.  Well, except perhaps food.

This was like, ‘I want you to touch me, but I’m not sure because I’m not wagging my tail. But I will go through the motions because it’s habit’….and then it was just too painful.  My husband tried to touch her as well on her hip, and got the same loud result. 

We saw her limping a little.  We couldn’t really tell whether or not the hip was bruised, the back muscles were spasming or what.  It was a Sunday night, so we couldn’t take her to the vet then.  Although she was clearly avoiding the stairs all day, she could still go up and down them alright. Especially for food. 

We wanted to give her something for the pain, but our vet tech friend advised against aspirin or ibuprofen.  So, we just let her rest.  And we hoped.

Then next day, she seemed a little bit better.  She was still a bit slow on the stairs, but she didn’t avoid them as much.  She wasn’t launching herself from the deck as she normally does, but she wasn’t so sad looking either.  She was more eager to approach us for ‘pets’.

Yesterday, she seemed back to normal already.  She was running down the stairs in the morning, launching herself from the deck, and pushing herself up to us for back rubs.  All of the normal Morgy activities were back.

We have no clue what was wrong with her.  There is some ice in our backyard, and I can imagine she might have slipped on that.  Perhaps she pulled a muscle in her back.  That is the best I can come up with.

The important thing is that Morgy has returned to being her 8 year old puppy self.  Strangely, that’s a relief!

About Abbie Groves

I love drawing, painting, and writing...really, anything creative is what I love to do. Knitting and crochet are also on the list.
This entry was posted in Pup-pups and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

