“A Little Bit Further” – a painting with an unusual beginning 


I started the abstract painting “A Little Bit Further” with a wash of primary colors. I initially I magined the painting would result in an abstract landscape eventually, but after allowing the underpainting layer to dry, I felt differently.  The painting needed to sit for awhile, as it wasn’t speaking to me. Two days ago, that all changed…the canvas spoke to me loud and clear!

This canvas wanted me to employ the knife instead of the brush for paint application.

There was a conspiracy of color and music in my studio at the time. 

I couldn’t stop myself – In a scrape on, scrape off fashion, I pushed and pulled the shapes until I felt I had achieved what I 

A Little Bit Further

About Abbie Groves

I love drawing, painting, and writing...really, anything creative is what I love to do. Knitting and crochet are also on the list.
Image | This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

